Dynamics Days US 2019

January 4–6, 2019


Event date: 1/4/2019 - 1/6/2019 Export event

The Department of Engineering Sciences and Applied Mathematics at the Northwestern University announces:

Dynamics Days US 2019
January 4-6, 2019
Evanston, IL

Dynamics Days is an annual conference on applications of nonlinear dynamics. Sessions will cover a broad range of topics, including neuroscience, fluids, data-driven & machine learning methods, nonlinear materials, complex networks, and human & biological systems.

Dynamics Days 2019 will take place in Evanston, IL from the morning of Friday, January 4 to late afternoon on Sunday, January 6, 2019. The invited speakers are:

Oluwaseyi Balogun, Northwestern University
Andrea Bertozzi, University of California, Los Angeles
Tomas Bohr, Danish Technical University, Denmark
Bing Brunton, University of Washington
Lauren Childs, Virginia Tech
Marta Gonzalez, University of California, Berkeley
Heinrich Jaeger, University of Chicago
Beverley McKeon, Caltech
Jeff Moehlis, University of California, Santa Barbara
Takashi Nishikawa, Northwestern University
Ed Ott, University of Maryland
Leif Ristroph, NYU Courant Institute
Dan Rothman, Massachusetts Institute of Technology
Jonathan Rubin, University of Pittsburgh
Mauricio Santillana, Harvard University
Vincenzo Vitelli, University of Chicago
Rachel Ward, University of Texas, Austin

For further information about the conference program, online registration, abstract submission, and travel support for graduate students and postdocs, please visit the conference website: http://ddays2019.northwestern.edu

or contact us at: ddays2019@northwestern.edu


Abstract submission for contributed talks: November 16th, 2018

Abstract submission for posters: December 14th, 2018

Early Registration: December 14th, 2018

Conference fees:

Early Registration (by Dec 14th): $150 for students/postdocs, $250 for faculty

Late Registration: $200 for students/postdocs, $300 for faculty

We anticipate that we will be able to offer a number of travel awards for students and postdocs. Please indicate your desire to be considered for such an award when submitting an abstract. Notifications of travel support award decisions will be sent by email at the end of November.

We encourage you to print out and post a copy of the conference announcement poster available at:

We hope to see you in Evanston in January,

The organizing committee,

Danny Abrams (NU Chair)
Niall Mangan (NU co-Chair)
Hermann Riecke (NU)
Juan G. Restrepo (CU, Boulder)
William T. M. Irvine (U Chicago)


Anticipated: ONR, NSF

LocationEvanston, IL

Documents to download


Please login or register to post comments.