Fund raising for the Moser Lecture Fund

By Hans Kaper

Jürgen Moser (1928-1999) was one of the world's leading mathematicians. He helped develop influential theories in celestial mechanics and dynamical systems theory (among other areas) and is renowned for his work on the Kolmogorov-Arnold-Moser (KAM) theory. He received his doctorate from the University of Göttingen (Germany) and went on to be a Professor at the Courant Institute, NYU (1955-1980) and at ETH-Zürich (1980-1995). He received the Wolf Prize in Mathematics in 1995.

In 2000, the SIAM Activity Group on Dynamical Systems (SIAG/DS) established the Jürgen Moser Lecture, to be awarded to a person who has made distinguished contributions to dynamical systems or nonlinear science. The prize consists of a special lecture at the biennial Snowbird meeting along with a cash prize. Jürgen Moser Lectures have been awarded to Yakov G. Sinai (2001), David P. Ruelle (2003), Stephen Smale (2005), Harry L. Swinney (2007), Martin Golubitsky (2009), James A. Yorke (2011), and Nancy Kopell (2013).

The Jürgen Moser Lecture is the most prestigious prize awarded by a SIAM Activity Group. The Officers and Advisory Board of the SIAG/DS have initiated a five-year drive to raise the Jürgen Moser Lecture prize from \\$1,000 to \\$5,000. We very much hope that you appreciate the importance of the Moser Lecture to the applied dynamical systems community and will contribute to the endowment. Contributions by the community of an additional \\$10,000 will enable us to reach our goal. Please send your pledges or contributions to:

The Jürgen Moser Lecture Fund
Attn: Lauren Steidel, Controller
Society for Industrial and Applied Mathematics
3600 Market Street, 6th floor
Philadelphia, PA 19104-2688

All contributions are tax-deductible to the extent permitted by law.


Please login or register to post comments.