SIAM-DS election results

By Lennaert van Veen

We would like to thank the outgoing officers, Hans Kaper, Mariana Haragus, Charles Doering and Lennaert van Veen, for their hard work and we introduce the newly elected officers for 2014/2015:

Tim Sauer
George Mason University

Dr. Tim Sauer received his Ph.D. in 1982 from the University of California, Berkeley and since 1985 has been in the Mathematical Sciences department at George Mason University. He has coauthored two books on dynamical systems and, more recently, an undergraduate/beginning graduate text on numerical analysis. He was the Vice Chair and web site curator of the SIAM activity group on dynamical systems during the Golubitsky administration (2002-2003) and a member of the SIAG/DS Advisory Board in 2010-2011. In 2013, he was Chair of the Moser Lecture Prize selection committee. He is on the editorial board of the SIAM Journal of Applied Dynamical Systems and the Journal of Difference Equations and Applications and is co-chief editor (with Joceline Lega) of Physica D. In 2009, 2011, and 2013, he served short sentences as program officer in the Division of Mathematical Sciences and in the Engineering Directorate's program on dynamical systems at the US National Science Foundation.
Vivi Rottschäfer
Leiden University

Dr. Vivi Rottschäfer is Associate Professor at the Mathematics Department of Leiden University in The Netherlands. She received her Ph.D. in Mathematics from Utrecht University, The Netherlands, in 1998. During 1999-2000 she was a postdoctoral researcher at the Department of Mathematics and Statistics of Boston University. After that, she started as a postdoc in Leiden, and in 2002 she received a grant from the `Royal Netherlands Academy of Arts and Sciences' to continue the research on formation of singularities she started in Boston. In 2006, this research got another impulse with a grant from the `Netherlands Organisation for Scientific Research,' and the topic of singularity formation in natural systems continues to be one of the themes in her research. More generally, her research interest lies in the formation of patterns in, for example, tidal basins, and ecosystems such as mussel beds and phytoplankton. The methods she uses include asymptotic analysis and geometric methods for singularly perturbed systems, amongst others.
Program Chair:
Lora Billings
Montclair State University

Dr. Lora Billings received a B.S. in Mathematics from Lafayette College in Easton, PA. She continued on to graduate school at the University of Colorado, Boulder, receiving a Ph.D. in Applied Mathematics in 1998. Dr. Billings received an ONR/ASEE Postdoctoral Fellowship to continue her research at the Naval Research Laboratory in Washington, DC. Dr. Billings then moved back to her home state of New Jersey in 2001 to take a position at Montclair State University, where she is currently a Full Professor in the Department of Mathematical Sciences. Dr. Billings' research program focuses on applied dynamical systems and analyzing stochastic and chaotic behavior. She works with a variety of applications, including population dynamics and epidemiology. Dr. Billings has published over forty-five journal articles and refereed articles in conference proceedings, which includes work from numerous student research projects.
Elizabeth Cherry
Rochester Institute of Technology

Dr. Elizabeth Cherry received her B.S. degree in Mathematics and American Studies from Georgetown University and her Ph.D. in Computer Science from Duke University. Her Ph.D. work with advisor Henry Greenside focused on applying adaptive mesh refinement methods to nonlinear parabolic PDEs for excitable media, including the electrical dynamics of cardiac cells and tissue. Afterward, Dr. Cherry's interests shifted more toward cardiac modeling, nonlinear dynamics, and medical applications. She worked in postdoctoral and research positions at the UCLA School of Medicine, the Hofstra University Department of Physics, and the Cornell University College of Veterinary Medicine before starting her current position as a faculty member of the School of Mathematical Sciences at the Rochester Institute of Technology in Rochester, New York. Dr. Cherry maintains an interdisciplinary focus in her work by collaborating with researchers from many fields and regularly supervising undergraduate and graduate students from a broad range of mathematics, computing, and engineering disciplines.
The term of the new officers began January 1, 2014 and is for two years. As the new Secretary/Treasurer, Elizabeth Cherry will take over as Editor-in-Chief of DSWeb Magazine. Lora Billings will co-organise the next Snowbird meeting with Panayotis Kevrekidis of the University of Massachusetts.

The new members of the Advisory Board are Danielle Bassett, Janet A. Best, Wolf-Jurgen Beyn, Tasso J. Kaper and Chad M. Topaz.

Thanks to all who participated in the election process.
Categories: Magazine, Announcements

Please login or register to post comments.